indian summer

 I figured by this time of year it’d be mostly digging and sticking the long cold days out – (I started the blog, pessimistically on a cold wet day to give me something when its cold outside but there is tons to do outdoors yet) The garden is sooo beautiful still- I bet the neighbour who stood whining to his wifey-witch on the other side of the fence how I’d never get flowers from such late seeding is sick with rage!) All the flowers have gone crazy from the sunny days and intermittent showers – even the roses have beautiful new flowers this week.  The evening primrose is almost as high as the sunflowers and has produced a bunch of baby plants all over the garden! We also have little crops of cyclamen and autumn crocuses appearing all over the garden.

 

I managed to get the fuchsias I bought out of the ground into pots just in case -apparently potted in sheltered area, they are hardier than people think… We’ll see! I have taken some cuttings just in case

, and have put the newly purchased Nile lilies (white, navy and Windsor grey) into pots – they do Okay in beds but stronger better flower if potted and it gave me an excuse to pot-shop.  The toad lily and pokers I got that weren’t even meant to flower until next year have their first blooms!  I have got white and pink I wanted buddleia in. I wasn’t going to get a purple buddleia but when they cropped the fallow field down the lane I found a purple branch and figured I’d try to make a plant from a cutting. Sadly the ‘royal red’ buddleia I had on order was a victim of infection and the nursery sent me a refundL so I’m still hunting. The pepper vine is on its way from the USA – I hope it survives!

 

I’m also planning a display of white in the huge copper pot I have, -camellia, and clematis pixie to trail over the sides with a central daisy bush, some green and white tulips so far.

 

I‘ve started the bulbs (buying them at leastJ) and a masses of primroses/ primulas for the lawn in peat pots – (thanks to the lovely local postie who probably hates me for the extra bike weight and the genius who invented the little pots that you start seeds or cuttings in, then can chuck in the ground to melt away and feed the soil) I have bulbs for pink daffodils, all kinds of  tulips,  snowdrops and a few hyacinths – to add to the masses of daffodils, crocuses and bluebells we inherited last spring I have no doubt some losses were suffered in the digging and planting this summer but hopefully not too many…

 

When planting the veggies I was a bit worried abut diseases like club root as I have no idea what was grown in the vegetable patch area before us, two out of the three non-mean neighbours think it was a pond that was filled by the realtors . The vegetables are still cropping and seem healthy, not just the beans and pumpkins- carrots, broccoli, and peas are still going strong. The potted raspberries didn’t fruit, nor the grapevine but both, have grown so much. The raspberries will need to be put in the ground instead of my original pan of having them in bins. I know that you are not supposed to put them in a place that raspberries have been before but I’m just hoping the pond rumour is true and! I’m told the raspberries and will benefit from the ‘pot-time’ next year; they have grown a lot from the twiggy little things they began as! But the strawberry plants – which began as 6 dodgy looking plugs and I alpine plant, have taken over, triffid style. The love of my life is fetching boulders for me too build a little castle for them! I’ve put in some winter broccoli and green manure seeds for over winter that have cute blue flowers as well as the nutrient value – it’s sort of handy living in-sight of so many fields and mean-old-mean gardens to follow a schedule for! On the green manure/ compost tack – I also got myself an organically grown comfrey plant since I read the leaves are one of the most beneficial that can be added to compost heaps, or ground and leaves steeped in water and the drained water used for watering and the resulting wetted leaf mess used around the edge, not only fertilize but the smell repels insects (animals, adults and children too by the sounds of it!!). I’ve saved empty compost bags to make leaf compost when the walnut tree starts to drop. Apparently Clover is also great for replacing nutrients – we have tons of clover but I’m not sure if it means a specific kind is good or if it’s all good!

 I can’t be bothered to do a mass harvest, as we are just taking what we need each day an hour or so before dinner,   but expect will soon need to organise a major dig-out before it all rots in the ground – and I think we grew just the right amount for the family and to freeze. I’m going to make up some herb pot-pourri for winter use as well as herb oils for cooking – different blends for meat, fish and pasta – The love of my life tells me my hobby has definitely made a difference in the shopping bill.

 

I have started the garden plans for next year and the first thing to buy is weed blanketing for in ’between the veggie rows and flower beds! I might even enter the village show (if Mr. Mean next door winds his neck in anyhow!).

 

It’s the time of year I enlist the assistance of the love of my life. As much as I love the garden I have managed to maintain my manicure and my dignity by 🙂 refusing to use power tools, turn the compost (even wearing my sexy welly boots!), lift anything that may over balance me or deal with frogs. I have called the hedgehog preservation people for advice and rescued a couple of the prickles (well I told the love of my life what they said to do from a safe distance!)

 

So the gorgeous one has, been busy lugging sacks of bark, manure, compost, bulb fibre and suchlike, drilling overflow holes in pots drowning in the rain – (I figured at the top was good for winter without loss in the summer),  aerated the lawn (after approx three spikes  with the garden fork as the method in the article says and the next thing I know he was shooting off in the Jag to B+Q to buy an aerator – came back with a case of beer, hedge trimmer and strimmer also – I do like it when he resigns to his fate! The raking of the thatch business is being left for a cooler day, after we both nearly collapsed of heat stroke within seconds…I want a lovely classic lawn out front, smooth and green, blah, blah – but out the back I ‘m going for a wildflower seed mix which looks so pretty (and allegedly is good for the planet’s wild life)

 

I’ve decided the horrid funeral-ground- type hedges are going next year as he has the right tool for it, but as I have n’ told him about the wild flower grass I want to put in before the end of the month I’m picking the battles in order of urgency (if all else fails I can always resort to dousing the morbid looking bushes with weed killer while he sleeps and claim them as victims of frost!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

